Analysis QA - Best practices?

I am in a nursing PhD and am pretty much self-taught on the analysis front outside of our (very general) graduate level stats course. I am very interested in the “secret curriculum” that comes along with formal training in a quant heavy discipline (e.g. epi, statistics), and have benefited greatly from conversations online in terms of reproducible research, best practices for statistical programming, etc… In the last three years I have gone from SPSS drop-downs to limiting repetition through functional programming in R, but I can’t shake the sense there are more basics to learn.

One thing I still wonder about is what would be considered “best practice” for QA’ing code. In other words, what is it that the pros do to feel confident that their program isn’t just dutifully spitting out the wrong answer?

My own workflow consists of verifying that model predictions make sense, adding complexity iteratively so I can monitor whether model specifications introduce counter-intuitive results, obsessively cleaning my environment before running anything I intend to present, and then reviewing code after a cooling off period.

Is there anything I can to improve this process or make it more efficient? Are there parts of this that are just a sophisticated way for me to fool myself?

In larger centres, is there any sort of formal or informal internal code review? Assuming I am on an analysis island, it seems like it might be worthwhile to add simulation to my workflow based on responses here.

Am I just doomed to live in fear I made some small error on line 8 that invalidates everything that follows? Relevant twitter poll below:

3 Likes