Causal graph based on data generation process

Hi,

I am quite new to causal inference and want to try some methods for treatment effect estimation. For this purpose, I created a the following data generation process in Python:

import numpy as np

n = 10000
X3 = np.random.randint(1,4, n)
X2 = np.random.randint(1,11, n)

X1 = 5 * X2 + 3 * X3 + np.random.randint(-1,3, n)
X4 = 10 * X2 + np.random.randint(-2,5, n)

#treatment probability
propensity = np.where(X1 > 30, 0.8, 0.2)
T = np.random.binomial(1, propensity)

#treatment effect
tau = np.where(X2 > 5, 10,0) * T * (-1)

#define outcome
Y = 50 * X2 - 5 * np.sqrt(X1) + T*tau + np.random.randint(10,21, n)

For the generated data, would created the following graph:

My question is: Since X2 (according to the data generation) does not influence the assignment of T but does have an influence on the treatment effect itself, is there an edge between X2 and T (X2->T) required?

Thank you very much!

A causal arrow between X2 and T is not required for the reasons you list. The directed acyclic graph tells us that variables X1, X2 and T jointly and causally effect the outcome Y, but doesn’t specify how they do so. We know from the data generating process that a specific interaction tau exists between X2 and T, but this kind of additional statistical information is not encoded in standard DAGs.

1 Like

Thank you so much for you reply! So for estimating the CATE (e.g. with econml) for each level of X2, the set of covariables X has to include {X1, X2} (since only X1 the backdoor adjustment)?