Cox proportional hazards regression - correcting for multiple analysis?

I’m new to datamethods but I wondered if I could check that I’ve understood a few things correctly.

I’m planning to use data from patient files over 5 years to do a survival analysis of patients with cervical cancer. I have 170 patients and expect I will have an event for about 100 of them. Stats is not my strong point so I wanted to check a few questions about the statistics I’m planning to do:

1. I am interested in comparing the survival curves between patients based on multiple different variables – age, parity, HIV status, whether they received chemotherapy etc. I have 7 variables I’m interested in total. If I run a cox proportional hazards regression, am I correct in thinking I will need at least 80 events? (to ensure I have a minimum of 10 events per variable)

2. Can I also check I’ve understood Cox proportional hazards regression correctly – I don’t need to correct for doing multiple analyses despite having multiple variables that will be compared? (I’m struggling a bit to understand the difference between log rank and cox regression - from what I’ve read, you never really need to do log rank? But I had initially wondered about doing a log rank test for the survival curves for each variable, which is what made me think maybe multiple analyses would be a problem).

3. From what I’ve read, I should be checking my investigation is adequately powered. I’ve been advised to use G*power for this, but I’m confused because I need an R2 value for my variables in order to do this. How can I calculate the R2 before I do the regression analysis? Is it based on previous findings by others? If I can’t find any R2 values (which I can’t so far!) can I do a power analysis at the end once I’ve done the regression instead?

Thank you in advance!