Empirical Bayes for RCT Interpretarion

Hello everyone,
So @f2harrell suggested I moved a Twitter discussion on using Bayesian update for interpretation of clinical trials to datamethods. I am a little bit concerned that my code and concepts may not be polished enough, but I will give it a shot. Please correct me if I am wrong, if I could have done this using different methods, etc. Keep in mind I am a regular ICU physician, so I cannot work with more than 4 Greek letters neither understand complex formulas.

The idea, overall, is simple. So simple it may be wrong, so the idea here is to open discussion on this subject.

The FLASH randomized controlled trial will serve as working example. FLASH randomized 775 patients to receive either saline or hydroxyethyl starch (HES) as default fluid during major surgery. It had a binary composite endpoints ([FLASH]). In brief, primary endpoint (which has harmful for the patient) occurred on 36% of HES patients and 32% of saline patients. This ended up as being “negative” and the authors presented a default conclusion.

The idea here is to reinterpret data knowing nothing more than a 2x2 table. No individual data. We will use a beta binomial distribution, since it is easy to update given data. Beta-binomial is cool.

1. The authors estimated primary outcome would occur on ~25% of all patients, so it makes sense to center our prior on it. I will consider that a standard deviation of 5% is reasonable here so the prior is not too strong, but any other prior could be used. Don’t blame me. First step is to find parameters alpha and beta on a beta distribution that are compatible with a mean = 0.25 and sd = 0.05:

set.seed(123) library(MASS) library(tidyverse)

#Note to non-statisticians: Beta distributions have alpha and beta parameters so this may be confusing #at first. R calls them shape1 and shape2.
#You will get some NaN messages because sometimes the rnorm will return negative values
#that cannot be used by fitdstr