From whence resistance to teaching enlightened statistics in scientific training programs?

I am a graduate of a Master of Science in Clinical Investigation program (Vanderbilt, around 2008), in which traditional frequentist statistics were explained by talented teachers in my opinion. Yet, my current understanding is that frequentist statistics is considered inferior or perhaps brutish when compared to other approaches, and this view is held even or especially in the biostats department in which I trained. Truth be told, it pains me to read comments denigrating the education I received relatively recently. And it worries me that this pattern of teaching one approach & denigrating it as inferior to a different method will continue without resolution.

I find myself wondering: from whence resistance to teaching enlightened statistics? If it’s being taught incorrectly, what’s the barrier to teaching correctly?

Thoughts or comments?

2 Likes

I’ve been guilty of making comments that sound like denigration of statistical education that clinicians have received. I need to clarify that we statisticians can been primary root causes for this, with secondary blame on clinicians for believing that their literature sets the trend for which statistical methods should be used in medical research for all time. Journal editors and reviewers share a lot of the blame. But it’s best for all of us not to think of methods used in the past as being disasters but rather concentrate on continual quality improvement.

We won’t make enough progress until teachers teach new approaches on at least an equal footing with traditional approaches. A huge issue is that I keep hearing that we need to teach so that students will understand what they see in the literature. That will never get the quality improvement we need.