Interim Analysis & "Alpha Spending" in RCT's using Bayesian Analyses

Some folks already know - I’m a trained frequentist statistician that’s become progressively more Bayesian by philosophy, though my technical knowledge is still very much a work in progress, and many of the trials that I work on are analyzed using frequentist methods.

I would like to start proposing Bayesian methods (as I acquire the relevant knowledge, where appropriate) but one thing that I have a difficult time communicating to others is the alpha-spending penalty for multiple interim looks required by frequentist analyses and why that does not apply to interim analyses in Bayesian statistical approaches.

I feel like I understand why this is true, but I can really struggle to communicate or explain it well. Would a few card-carrying Bayesian trialists be willing explain this in relative lay language so I can see if one of those phrases “clicks” a little bit more with me and, hopefully, my future collaborators?

3 Likes