Kaplan-Meier: SE for absolute difference in time-point survival

Hi datamethods community! This is my first post here (or any statistics forum for that matter) so please bear with me.

I work as an epidemiologist in a large cancer registry and often compare Kaplan-Meier curves between groups of patients with different morphologic subgroups, tumor sizes, presence vs. absence of distant metastasis etc.

In a current project I was asked to report the absolute survival difference at 5 years of follow-up with the corresponding 95% CI as a measure of association between survival time and morphology group (comparison of 2 groups).

While computation of the point estimate is obvious, how would you estimate the SE of the between-group difference of the two 5-year Kaplan-Meier estimates? I was surprised to find very little information on this online or in survival analysis textbooks.

My naive take was to calculate the variances from the two individual (Greenwood) SEs from my survival::survfit() output at the appropriate K-M estimate by squaring them, then using the sum of the individual variances as the variance of the difference. From there I would calculate SEs and CIs as usual.

1. Am I missing something in the calculation of the SE?
  2. Are there any strong arguments against using this difference as a measure of association? I like the intuitive interpretation of the absolute difference compared to a HR, especially as the analysis is targeted at pathologists, who are not necessarily familiar with relative effect measures. Of course, some information is thrown away by focusing on one point of the survival curve.

Thank you!

1 Like