Modeling categorical variables when the purpose is prediction

Dear all,

I am a statistician and recently I started to collaborate with people expert in machine learining/artificial intelligence on a study where the main aim is to build a prediction model (to make accurate predictions) given a large set of candidate predictors, continuous and categorical.

So, with regard to the categorical ones with k categories (with k=1,…,K), I used to think that even when the purpose is making predictions, you should include, among the candidate predictors set, only K-1 dummy variables. But I have noticed that the ML/AI guys used to include all of them (so for K=3, 3 summies).
Is that correct?

Thank you in advance for any thought on that.

Elisabetta

1 Like

My guess is they are effectively using a cell means model whereas you are including an intercept in your model.

My impression is that they use one-hot encoding “by default”. When is it appropriate and when it is not?
I read that it might be acceptable when you do feature selection. This means that if for example I use the elastic-net I can (HAVE TO?) use the one-hot encoding?
Is there a reference article/book that talk about that?
Thanks a lot,
Elisabetta

It doesn’t have to do with feature selection, but it does have to do with regularization. Most ML models are regularized in some way.

You can do this even if there is an intercept term if you use Bayesian or L2/L1 regularized regression. You don’t have to do this when using elastic net but its the other way around- if you do this you basically need some sort of regularization Then the multicollinearity caused by the “overcomplete” one-hot representation becomes a non issue.