Modelling long-term longitudinal biochemical degradation - a Bayesian approach?

Hi everyone - I am pretty new to this site, but I’ve been enjoying reading some of these discussions. Thank you to everyone who is contributing - I’m learning so much.

I’m recently trying to solve a problem - I am a PhD student studing puberty and mental health in a large adolescent cohort. We have ~2000 saliva samples kept in storage years at -20Celsius before being analysed for steroid hormones by our collaborators. I’ve conducted a stability analysis to estimate their degradation in storage. I’d like advice on analysing the data from a Bayesian perspective. I’ve been motivated to this approach because:

• I’m interested estimating the actual rate of degradation, not just null hypothesis testing.
  • I want to use a heirarchical modelling and regression for non-linear relations. I’ve had some success using brms for this purpose previously.

Our approach was to collect saliva from 16 healthy volunteers, which have now been assayed for our biomarkers of interest at 6 timepoints after storage in identical conditions to the adolescent cohort for 2 years. I know want to know the probable degradation for each biomarker in this smaller sample of 16.

After some research on this topic, I think there are 3 plausible kinetic processes by which biomarkers could degrade (there are more of course, but here are three):

1) Linear degradation

y = y_0 - kt
where:

• y is the concentration at time t
  • y_0 is the baseline concentration
  • k is the slope with time (and is most likely negative - all biomarkers should some degree of degradation over the time period)

As volunteers have different baseline values, I’ve decided to use a heirarchical modelling approach (for both this model and the following two classes of model, see later) where y_0 could be modelled as: