Sample size in Epidemiological studies

Some time back an interesting discussion took place on datamethods.org on the inappropriate sample size in clinical trials (here: ANDROMEDA-SHOCK (or, how to intepret HR 0.76, 95% CI 0.55-1.02, p=0.06))

I work as an epidemiologist, and health economist. And since this discussion, I am planning to create a short slide kit on how does incorrect sample size matter in the context of epidemiological studies. I am looking for such studies for a while now, but could not come across any. Is anyone aware about issues of sample size in the epidemiological studies (smaller sample size leading to incorrect interpretation on population impact of intervention, effectiveness of an intervention, …)

I am using this platform. So in case, I described the issue in more detail (or did not provide enough context), kindly let me know.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance!

Amit

if epidemiology means uncontrolled, restrospective etc then i would have examples. i would have to come back to you tho when less busy. Other statisticians working in academia might have examples ie clients who present them with a spreadsheet of a dozen babies and some data on the mothers and say: what can you do with this? some conferences (presenting mostly epidem results) demand post hoc power calculations from those submitting abstracts. it doesn’t make sense but you can appreciate the impulse

edit: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25148115

Thanks a lot @PaulBrownPhD!

Yes. By epidemiology I mean uncontrolled, but not only retrospective studies. It can be prospective as well. Important being, no intervention is introduced as a part of study in a systematic manner. For example, a study looking at vaccine effectiveness can be epidemiological study where advice for getting vaccinated is not a part of the study; but it turns to be an interventional study when such an advice is a part of study.