Should all medical research papers require statistical review?

This tweet from Andrew Althouse (https://twitter.com/ADAlthousePhD/status/1035130907785658370)
spawned me to finally post this question: Should all manuscripts require a statistical review?

I am a surgeon. I have a year of graduate level epi/biostats training and while I feel comfortable with some methods, I always feel like a discussion with a fully trained epi/biostats person helps (at the very worse I come away with no additional info). However, and particularly in the surgical literature, well meaning (and some not so much)surgeons and physicians perform research that is sometimes bad, and at other times woefully negligent.

This obviously probably happens less in some fields where stats is a core part of training, but I think suggesting that having an MD prepares you fully in methodology is laughable. Even my minimal training did more to expose me to possibilities, limitations, and the basics more than it prepared me to take on every possible situation.

So here I am asking if every medical paper should have a statistical review. I am not quite suggesting that statisticians tear everything apart, but even a gross review of major problems would be useful. Perhaps statisticians could also help make a paper more clear by requiring assumptions be clearly stated.

I am sure this has been discussed before in other locals, but really I would love to hear what the community thinks. It is possible this is overkill, but also possible that it would greatly reduce the trash that gets published and help to improve the quality of the literature greatly.

BTW: I think this would be a great idea, and would support it.

2 Likes