Socioeconomic status and patient outcomes. A potentially flawed study is gaining traction in Orthopedics!

Hi all,

I am a current orthopedic surgery resident who also serves as a reviewer for one of the major joint replacement journals in orthopedics ( Journal of Arthroplasty; i.e JOA). I have some experience as a data scientist. JOA recently published a retrospective manuscript which concluded that genetic predisposition and NOT socioeconomic status was associated with likelihood for the development of joint infection after a knee replacement. Interestingly, the authors found patients on medicaid had higher odds of developing joint infection ( OR: 1.39; p=0.013). This to me seems like an issue of collinearity. Nonetheless, it is creating alot of buzz in the joint replacement literature, and may spur some changes to standard of care.

From reading the article, it seems like the authors fail to account for collinearity, particulary between Medicaid status and median house hold income. I am prepared to write a letter to the Editor to rebut the authors conclusions.

I will like to get everyone’s opinions on it. The title of the article is " Socioeconomic Status May Not Be a Risk Factor for Periprosthetic Joint Infection" by DeKeyser et al.

I can send the manuscript to those who cannot get access to it, if you email me at cgwam@wakehealth.edu.

Warm regards

3 Likes

The contribution I can make to this discussion is limited because I don’t have subject matter knowledge on this topic but here are some thoughts:

• Collinearity leads to larger standard errors, confidence intervals and p-values but does not bias the estimates themselves. As the study features a rather large sample size, I don’t think collinearity is a big problem in this case. Also, collinearity is usually discussed in the framework of continuous variables but the authors included Medicaid and Household Median Income as categorical variables.