Using trajectory analysis and G-formula in observational data

I have a data set of about 5,000 participants, which included their physical examination data such from 1990 to 2018. Cardiovascular disease(CVD) incidence has been followed-up to 2018.This is data from observational studies. I want to design a study to analyze the trajectory of triglycerides and related risk of CVD.

My thoughts are 1. analyze the trajectory of triglycerides using the Jointlcmm funcation in the lcmm package in R; 2. use G-formula in the gfoRmula R package to calcuate the hazard ratios for CVD incidence according to these classes from trajectory analysis. Because this is an observational data, I want to use G-formula to estimate the effects, which seems be more close to causal effects.

I’m not a professional statistician. I’m not sure if this is a good idea (or an idea that doesn’t make sense for clinical practice due to poor statistics). So I am here for some help. I can only get observational data. I want to come up with some acceptable results if possible using these data.

First of all, I want to hear professional statistician opinion.

Also, there are some questions.

1. It seems that I need multiple physical examination data(triglycerides) to fit trajectories, but some participants only had one or two participations during the follow-up. Should I exclude the ones with less participations. If so, what should be the minimum number of participations.

2. I am reading this paper.I could not understand the part “Generating Covariate Histories”. There are there patterns for pre-coded functions of history for a covariate: lagged, cumavg, lagavg. I don’t quite understand how to select them.
    .gfoRmula: An R Package for Estimating the Effects of Sustained Treatment Strategies via the Parametric g-formula

Besides, If there are any other good methods to handle these observational data with time-varying varibales, please tell me.

Thank you very much.