Bayesian Dynamic Borrowing with Robust Mixture Priors: Fair or not?

I am a statistician on the sponsor side of trials, having recently graduated from school and working a good bit in Bayesian methods, and Bayesian Dynamic Borrowing has become a popular topic in my current work. For those unfamiliar, the “Dynamic” part comes from the idea that the model itself is updated somehow based on data coming in. For example, a “robust mixture prior” uses a mixture prior, one vague piece and one informative piece, each with weight adding to 1, and if your data coming in “agrees” with the informative piece of the prior, you update the weights on your prior to favor the informative piece. If the data does not agree with the informative piece of the prior, then the vague piece is given higher weight.

A few of Frank Harrell’s resources and posts on Bayesian methods have mentioned that one way to cheat as a Bayesian is to change the prior after seeing the data. This Dynamic Borrowing seems like a textbook case of that. It feels wrong to me, like you’re counting the data twice. Once to weight the prior, and once as the data itself (likelihood). The defense is that there are no further “user choices” being made, the method is only specified one time at the beginning, and the weights are updated “automatically” as data comes in. I don’t think I buy this. It still seems like the prior is technically being updated and data is being counted twice. The problem is, I don’t have any specific examples/simulations or references that can help explain if my intuition is correct.

I was wondering if anyone had any more thoughts on this topic, especially any specific examples that say Dynamic Borrowing is fair or not.

1 Like

The terminology is a bit confusing to me, and I may be missing something.