Best practices for recording race/ethnicity

What are some examples of race/ethnicity questionnaire items that honor people’s right to identify and describe themselves while also complying with US OMB guidelines and leading to manageable data?

One example I have seen is used in the All of Us research project; see “The Basics” at https://www.researchallofus.org/survey-explorer/. I would love to see good examples that other people have found.

6 Likes

I am still learning how to embed tweets, but I wanted to share this one from Jonathan Jackson, PhD. When he says “this question,” he’s referring to Dr. Consuelo Wilkins’s question, “Scientists: how would you measure a drop of Black blood?”

Indeed. Fellow scientists, if you can't answer this question, why are you continuing to measure race in your studies as a nominal-scale variable? Or at all?

Why not measure racism instead? Or individual systemic deprivation? Cleaner and more accurate. https://t.co/NgnHNIjhsi

— Jonathan Jackson, PhD (@egaly) June 11, 2020
2 Likes

On a related issue I have lots of teaching examples where race as a variable is oversimplified. What is the best language that I can add as a disclaimer when I can’t collect better data?

2 Likes

Perhaps because racism or individual systemic deprivation is harder to measure. Can measurement as a nominal variable, not lead to occasional useful insights?

Another related Twitter thread:

:thread:

I’ve been thinking about concrete actions epidemiologists can take to dismantle racism in our science. How we define & analyze race can be racist & paternalistic, stubbornly valuing (what we perceive as) “objectivity” over accuracy. #epitwitter 1/n

— Amy Baugher (@AmyBaugher) June 11, 2020
1 Like