How do we mistake biological plausibility for clinical relevance?

Research in the field of Critical Care Medicine is increasingly challenging. As an intensivist, I am getting used to seeing helplessly weak hypotheses receiving complicated statistical treatments. The field has focused more on better data analysis than on better hypotheses.

I am studying the pitfalls in translating biological plausibility to clinical relevance, and ultimately estimating the treatment effect in an RCT. Unfortunately, academia has no or little space for such a topic. Hence, I decided to discuss the topic in Substack, in short and provocative posts.

The problem has two parts. The first is the causal chain supporting the RCT causal assumption. Here I depict studies with confusing hypotheses that unsurprisingly yielded “negative” results.

The Land of Irrelevance #1 - The PReVENT Study

The Land of Irrelevance #2 - The MENDS2 Study

The second part is the marginal utility of the hypothesis, considering the clinical scenario, especially considering what I call the Additive Paradigm. In this post, I lay a framework:

How do we mistake biological plausibility for clinical relevance?

One good example is the “Chloride Case”, where I discuss how a fragile hypothesis got tested in large RCTs and even had a meta-analysis. This bad hypothesis received disproportional attention.

Finally, there is an example of how the misuse of statistics will provide a “significant” result for a terrible hypothesis.

Irrelevant Yet Significant: The DEFENDER study (part 1/2)

I think this is a major problem in biomedical research. I would truly appreciate any input from this respected community of biostatisticians. I believe this is a problem people couldn’t see coming. How to solve it?

5 Likes