Interpreting the results of two non-inferiority trials

This is my first post on datamethods so I hope it is appropriate and of some interest.

Colleagues of mine recently published a trial as one of two back-to-back papers in the Lancet (1, 2). The trials were addressing the same clinical question and reported almost identical hazard ratios for the primary outcome. Despite the similar results the conclusions in terms of the implications for clinical practice were the opposite. They asked me to comment on the results.

As I am no expert on the analysis of nuanced interpretation of RCTs, even less so for those with a non-inferiority question, I thought I’d put my thoughts in a public forum and get others opinions. My interpretations may be way off kilter!

Both trials were non-inferiority trials evaluating whether 6-months of trastuzumab therapy was equivalent to the standard 12-months treatment in HER2-positive early breast cancer. Shorter treatment could provide similar efficacy while reducing toxicities and cost. The primary end point was disease free survival in both trials. Four thousand and eighty-nine patients were randomised in the PERSEPHONE trial and followed for a median of 5.4 years (512 events) and 3,384 were randomised in the PHARE trial and followed for a median of 7.5 years (704 events). The hazard ratio for 6-months compared to 12-months was 1.07 (0.93 – 1.24) in PERSEPHONE and 1.08 (0.93 – 1.25) in PHARE (inappropriately described as disease-free survival in the 12-month group versus the 6-month group).