R vs. Python in academia

Hi everyone,

I’m curious to hear your thoughts on the importance of learning Python in academic biostatistics or closely related fields (e.g., statistics, bioinformatics, data science).

Background:

• I’ve been using R for over 10 years and haven’t encountered a problem I couldn’t solve with it. I’m highly proficient and comfortable with R.
  • However, I’m wondering how essential it is to learn Python for career advancement in academia, especially in biostatistics.

Questions:

1. For someone like me with extensive R experience, how important do you think learning Python is for an academic career in biostatistics or similar fields?
  2. Do you see a future where Python (or even Julia) might replace R in academia? Should I be concerned about R becoming less relevant over time?

Personally, I’d prefer to stick with R since it fits all my needs so far. But I’m open to learning new tools if it’s crucial for staying competitive in the field. I’m also curious to hear your perspectives on whether being fluent in more than one statistical programming language (like Python or Julia) provides a significant advantage.

This video by a quantitative finance professional discusses some of the problems with Python. Keep in mind that R is the language developed by statisticians for statisticians. If you know how to do things correctly, you can port that knowledge to Python, but don’t depend on packages to do the thinking for you.

1 Like

Oversimplifying a bit, here are two important points:

• Python is way behind R in statistical methods (try to do a partial proportional odds ordinal logistic model with random effects in Python for example)
  • If you are analyzing high-dimensional data matrices as occur in imaging data, genomics, metabolomics, RNA-seq, single cell data, Python is going to have more capabilities and handle larger datasets
1 Like

I wonder if someone might comment on R versus Python for Natural Language Processing.

Not me.